The 7 Pillars Of Mindfulness

Mindfulness described as the act of being present in the moment without judgment, has garnered significant attention in the scientific community for its profound impact on the brain. 

The seven pillars of mindfulness were created by Jon Kabat-Zinn, who developed Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR), to serve as a foundational guide to mindfulness practice. 

For better understanding, below are the seven pillars of mindfulness what they mean, and how they can help in building up the human character; 

1. Non-judgment

Culled from Strategic Wealth Partners 

The principle of non-judgment in mindfulness involves fostering a mindset free from critical evaluations, not only when considering others but also in self-reflection. While it’s a well-known idea to refrain from passing judgment on external situations or individuals, this principle emphasizes the often-overlooked necessity of applying the same level of compassion and understanding to oneself.

The emphasis is on developing the ability to observe and acknowledge judgmental thoughts without becoming entangled or overly identified with them. This process is not about suppressing or denying such thoughts but rather about cultivating a non-reactive awareness. It encourages recognizing that thoughts, whether positive or negative, passing or persistent, are transient aspects of mental activity and do not rigidly define one’s identity. The practice involves a gentle and non-critical examination of one’s thoughts, acknowledging their presence without undue attachment. 

2. Beginner’s Mind

culled from opening hearts mindfulness community

Embracing a beginner’s mind in mindfulness encourages approaching situations with a fresh and uncluttered perspective, unburdened by preconceived notions from past experiences. It is akin to looking at things as if encountering them for the first time, devoid of assumptions or judgments.

This mindset fosters a commitment to continuous learning, acknowledging that each moment presents a unique opportunity for discovery. By letting go of the baggage of past expectations or habits, individuals with a beginner’s mind remain receptive to new possibilities and insights.

Remaining open and curious is central to this practice, as it serves as a safeguard against falling into habitual thought patterns or automatic responses. The emphasis is on cultivating a sense of wonder and exploration, even in familiar situations, which can lead to a deeper appreciation for the richness and nuances of the present moment.

3. Trust

Words Of Encouragement For A Friend
Culled from pixel

Trust holds a significant role within the broader framework. It revolves around placing confidence in one’s instincts, especially in the face of societal expectations and external pressures. While acknowledging the importance of respecting certain principles and societal norms, the essence of trust lies in making choices that align with personal beliefs rather than unquestioningly adhering to external standards.

The principle recognizes that while external standards provide a framework for social interaction, blindly conforming to them without considering one’s authentic beliefs can lead to a sense of disconnection and inner conflict. Trust in mindfulness implies a conscious alignment of one’s actions with personal values, fostering authenticity and a deeper connection with one’s true self.

4. Non-striving

culled from pixel

The concept of non-striving in mindfulness delves into the idea that a continuous pursuit of future goals, without appreciating the present, impedes genuine happiness. It serves as a reminder to acknowledge and find fulfillment in the current moment rather than relentlessly striving for external achievements.

The ethos of non-striving challenges the cultural narrative that often emphasizes constant achievement and progress. Instead, it encourages individuals to pause and appreciate the richness of the present without always looking toward the next milestone. By doing so, it advocates for a mindset that values the journey as much as, if not more than, the destination.

This principle is not about dismissing ambition or goals but rather about fostering a balanced approach. It suggests that contentment and a sense of well-being can be found in the process of living and experiencing each moment fully. By being present and fully engaged in the now, individuals can develop a deeper understanding of themselves and their surroundings, cultivating a profound awareness of the significance inherent in each moment.

5. Patience

culled from forbes

Patience underscores the significance of living in the present moment, emphasizing that the future is inherently unpredictable, and dwelling on the past can be unproductive. Cultivating patience in the context of mindfulness involves a deliberate and conscious immersion in the current moment, steering clear of impatience driven by anticipation or a longing for change.

Patience, in this sense, is not just the ability to wait but a conscious choice to fully engage with and appreciate the nuances of the present. It involves letting go of the impulsive desire for things to be different and embracing the unfolding of each moment with an open and accepting mindset.

6. Acceptance

culled from pixel

Mindful acceptance involves perceiving the present moment without the filter of judgment or the immediate need to change it. It does not imply passive approval of every situation but, instead, encourages a clear-eyed acknowledgment of reality. It involves recognizing the current state of affairs, both internally and externally, without denying or ignoring it.

Acceptance does not imply resignation but rather a willingness to see things as they are. It recognizes that from a place of clear understanding, one can make more informed and effective choices. By letting go of denial or ignorance, individuals can move beyond reactive responses and cultivate a sense of resilience, navigating challenges with a greater sense of calm and purpose.

7. Letting Go

culled from pixel

Letting Go underscores the human tendency to become fixated on aspects of life that are beyond our control. It acknowledges that there are elements in life that we cannot change or influence, and trying to control them only leads to stress and frustration. The idea here is to cultivate a mindset of acceptance, especially in the face of circumstances that are beyond our control.

Mindfulness plays a crucial role in facilitating this process. Mindfulness involves being fully present in the current moment without judgment. By practicing mindfulness, individuals can develop an awareness of their thoughts and emotions without becoming overly attached or reactive to them. This awareness then allows for a conscious decision to let go of unnecessary fixation on uncontrollable aspects of life.


The seven pillars of mindfulness serve as a roadmap to a more balanced, resilient, and fulfilling life. By incorporating these principles into daily life, you can develop a profound awareness of the present moment and navigate life’s challenges with greater calm and purpose.